YPS board seeks applicants for vacant seat

Post 4 remains opens after Behymer’s resignation

YPS Board Vice President Leonard Wells

By Carol Mowdy Bond

Contributing Writer

A Yukon Public Schools’ board seat remains vacant.

YPS board member Jeff Behymer initially took the Post 4 seat in July 2016, when he was appointed to replace David Yetter who vacated the seat. He then was elected to the position April 2, 2019.

But due to a move that made him ineligible to serve on the board, Behymer’s resignation was publicly announced Dec. 3.

When a board member vacancy occurs in any of the five districts, the YPS board informs the public at the board meetings. Any interested persons are given an application and questionnaire to fill out.

Then the superintendent reviews the applications and questionnaires and invites qualified candidates to an informal meeting with the superintendent.

After the informal meeting, qualified candidates are invited to speak to board members during executive session of the next board meeting. Then, the board votes on each candidate.

At the Dec. 3 board meeting when Behymer’s resignation was announced to the public, the public was also notified of the vacancy and the opportunity to apply for the position.

Several individuals have inquired about the open seat and have begun completing their applications.

“The information I have is that no one has officially submitted their name for the open position,” YPS Board President Leonard Wells said.

Behymer represented YPS District 4, which is bounded on the north by E. Wagner Road., on the east by S. Yukon Parkway, on the south by W. Vandament, and on the west by State Hwy 4/Piedmont Rd./S. Cornwell.


Board of Education members serve as volunteers, without pay.

The state grants the YPS board their powers. In compliance with state and federal laws, the board establishes policies and regulations that are used to govern YPS schools.

The power to adopt new policies or revise existing policies rests solely with the board.

School board members work with the community to improve student achievement within the district. The board is responsible for:

  • employing the superintendent
  • adopting policies, curriculum, and the budget
  • overseeing facilities issues
  • adopting collective bargaining agreements

Unless otherwise noted, the YPS school board meets at 6 p.m. on the first Monday of each month in inside the YPS Administration Building, 600 Maple.

All meetings are open to the public. However, Oklahoma law and district policy dictate that patrons may only address the board on items posted on the respective meeting’s agenda.

Current board members are: President Leonard Wells, Clerk Suzanne Cannon, Deputy Clerk Rex Van Meter, and Member Chris Cunningham.