YHS heads pack with 63 Oklahoma Academic Scholarships

Southwest Covenant has 14 honorees


By Conrad Dudderar
Senior Staff Writer

Sixty-three Yukon High School and 14 Southwest Covenant students have been named 2019-20 Oklahoma Academic Scholars.

The Oklahoma State Department of Education recently announced the names of 2,852 graduating seniors from across the state being recognized for outstanding academic achievement.

YHS has the most Oklahoma Academic Scholars among high school schools in Canadian County. Mustang has 57, Piedmont has 35, El Reno has four, Okarche has two, and Calumet has one.

“I am very proud of the Class of 2020 students who earned the distinct honor of being named Oklahoma Academic Scholars,” YHS Principal Melissa Barlow said. “Their commitment to rigorous learning throughout their high school career is admirable.

“With the help of our outstanding faculty at YHS, these students made a commitment to academic success as a Yukon Miller and they are very deserving of this honor.”



Isabella Anson, Dylan Asher, Madison Barnes, Derek Baudendistal, Zachary Blondiau, Molly Burch, Jakob Dangcil, Colton DeKinder, David DeLoera, Shyloe Downing, Dylan Faulkner, Liana Feronti, D’Lanee Fields, Presli Findley, Kole Frederick, Halle Funkhouser, Chelsea Fuston, Lois Garner, Harrison Gartman, Blake Gerber, Christopher Gerber, Aubrey Gilginas, Justin Hardy, Nicholas Hennigh, Brendan Hill, Steven Howell, Hattie Hughs, Halli Humphrey, Hannah Hurtz, Boston Kelley, Kohl Kimmel, Anna Langert, Tristan LaRose, Kylie Love, Josh Mathew, Emilyann McCarthey, Gabrielle Mobarak, Mackenzie Moon, Makila Morris, Carol Morrison, Tayah Morrison, Emily Nichols, Peyton Novosad Mason O’Hara, Justin Ogle, Justin Ogletree, Ariel Olvera, Victor Prentice, Cody Richardson, Lily Ross, Payton Sanderson, Jordan Schlarb, Caleb Seright, Isaac Sisney, Zachary Snow, Justus Sommer, Kaitlyn Tess, Emma Thompson, Amanda Toney Luis Miguel Torres, Minh Tran, Ashlee Van Meter, and Mason Wrather.


Luke Arnould, Savannah Bobo, Kindle Chamberlain, Hannah Danley, Harley Gossen, Kylie Moseley, Blake Mosshart, Ethan Mostek, Chloe Nason, Macie Noland, Ian Parker, Carlee Stecker, Andrew Ward, and Hannah Warner.

Graduating seniors who meet all these requirements are recognized by their local school district and the State Board of Education as an Oklahoma Academic Scholar:
*Accumulate over grades 9, 10, 11 and the first semester of Grade 12, a minimum grade point average of 3.7 on a 4.0 scale or be in the top 10% of their graduation class.
*Complete (or will complete) the curricular requirements for a standard diploma.
*Achieve a 27 composite score on the ACT or 1220 combined reading and mathematics score on the SAT.

The ACT or SAT must have been taken on a national test date or state administered test date.

Oklahoma Academic Scholars receive a certificate of recognition from the State Board of Education and their local high school, a gold seal affixed to their diploma and the honor recorded on their official transcript.