YPS welcomes more than 100 new employees

2020-21 school year begins next week with on-line, virtual classes


Yukon Public Schools is welcoming more than 100 new employees for the 2020-21 school year. This list includes new teachers, support personnel and administrators across the school district.

YPS now has 1,279 employees. YPS personnel have been back at the school sites for several weeks preparing for the start of a new school year.

The 2020-21 school year begins next Monday, Aug. 24 with online “distance” learning for students. Meanwhile, Yukon Virtual School classes starts Wednesday, Aug. 26.

The Yukon school district’s new employees are:

Athletics: Christina Diaz, custodian.

Business Office: Carol White, support specialist.

Central Elementary: Hannah Michael, kindergarten teacher; and Deborah Oakes, music teacher.

Community Engagement: Macy Brookshire, Millers After School aide; Olivia Harris, Millers After School aide; Lindsay Loeffelholz, Millers After School aide; and Emily Pierce, Millers After School aide.

Independence Intermediate: Zoe Claunch, playground monitor; Taylor Jennings, playground monitor; Melissa Nordmark, special education teacher; Katie Osborn, counselor; Halie Parsons, office/library/school assistant; Tim Rhodes, sixth grade science teacher; and Madison (Sizer) Wilcoxson, special education teacher.

Lakeview Intermediate: Kayla Cannon, fifth grade English language arts/social studies teacher; Rebecca Dixon, fourth grade English language arts/social studies teacher; Shantel Ellis, physical education teacher; Kylie Godwin, fifth grade math/science teacher; Bethany Metcalf, fourth grade English language arts/social studies teacher; Susannah Oberst, playground monitor; Doris Peyton, playground monitor; and Holly Stewart, sixth grade English language arts teacher.

Maintenance: Fedele Mass, heating, venting and air conditioning assistant.

Myers Elementary: Tara Herron, paraprofessional.

Office of Technology and Information Services: Joshua Childers, information technology support technician; and Tristan Zirkle, information technology support technician.

Parkland Elementary: Cristy Denton, Big 5 classroom aide; Alejandra Iniguez, bilingual assistant; and Kishia Steiner, Big 5 pre-kindergarten teacher.

Ranchwood Elementary: Brittany Cole, first grade teacher; Angela Martin, special education teacher; and Krysten Yates, playground monitor.

Redstone Intermediate: Triniti Bodine, paraprofessional; Kayleen Browning, fifth grade English language arts/social studies teacher; Justin Chandler, fourth grade math/science teacher; Angel Derrick, paraprofessional; Jill Eischen, fourth grade English language arts/social studies teacher; Laura Frazier, counselor; Katherine Hargus, special education teacher; Shelley Hill, secretary; Ashleigh Klaus, paraprofessional; Crista McCann, art teacher; Kacy Moses, physical education teacher; Micah (Evans) Sexton, special education teacher; April Stafford, fourth grade teacher; Rebecca Watkins, paraprofessional; and Lori Williams, special education teacher.

Shedeck Elementary: Jacob Benner, physical education teacher; Mary Fenrick, kindergarten teacher; Kyleigh Marquez, first grade teacher; and Anthony Thomas, custodian.

Skyview/Central Elementary: Marcia Newhardt, special education teacher.

Special Education: Christina Blackburn, registered nurse; Angelica Butanda, certified occupational therapy assistant; Alexandra Falkner, speech language pathologist; April Jones, speech language pathologist; Bai-Lee Logan, school psychologist; and Lisa Ray, registered nurse.

Surrey Hills Elementary: Rachelle Marlana Dockery, custodian; Rheanna Due, paraprofessional; Grace Elliott, first grade teacher; Vicki Embry, cafeteria monitor; Britney (McWilliams) Fielding, third grade teacher; Kacy Gunter, cafeteria monitor; Elizabeth Seley, teacher’s instructional aide; and Emily Shelton, paraprofessional.

Transportation: Cecelia Carli, bus driver; Emil Schritter, bus driver; and Dalice Steffen, bus driver.

Transportation/Central Elementary: Martha Williams, bus monitor/playground monitor.

Yukon Alternative School: Haley Danielle Bohanon, classroom aide; and Kynsee Combs, teacher.

Yukon Middle School: Laurie Finkenbinder, Project Lead The Way (PLTW)/Science, Technology Engineering and Math (STEM) teacher; Zachary Fisher, assistant band director; Jason Hensley, social studies teacher/coach; Melia Kane, science teacher; Emmalee Luke, health teacher; Margaret Maruca, paraprofessional; Vianca Ramos, EL teacher; and Dionne Rogers, math teacher.

Yukon High School: Danielle (Greenspan) Benefiel, fourth grade math/science teacher; Zachary Booth, Oklahoma history teacher; Tanner Brown, assistant band director; Alane Buseman, paraprofessional; David Craig, assistant band director; Christina Drew, receptionist; Jason Furlong, math teacher; Delinda Garrett, special education teacher; Amanda Gifford, special education teacher; Jarrod Halphen, agriculture education teacher; Hannah Hodge, English teacher; Craig Hubbard, street law/U.S. history teacher; Courteney Hughes, English teacher; Heather Jones, Spanish teacher; Kris Martens, Spanish teacher; Lisa Monks, math teacher; Michael Perez, Spanish teacher; Alexandra Schradle, English teacher; and Laura Whitmer, paraprofessional.