Five candidates file Monday for Senate-22 special election

Filing period continues through Wednesday for Bice’s seat


Five candidates filed on Monday, Dec. 7, the first day of the three-day filing period for the Oklahoma State Senate District 22 special election.

Two Democrats and three Republicans filed on the first day of the three-day filing period:

Democrats: Molly Ooten, 31, of NW 189th Terrace in Edmond; and Dylan Billings, 31, of Foxfire Road in Edmond.

Republicans: Keri Shipley, 48, of Water Oak Circle in Edmond; Darrick Matthews, 39, of Highlander Ridge Drive in Edmond; and Jake A. Merrick, 39, of NW 100th Street in Yukon.

Candidate filing continues from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Tuesday, Dec. 8 and Wednesday, Dec. 9 at the State Election Board (Room G28) inside the State Capitol Building, 2300 N Lincoln Blvd. in Oklahoma City.

The seat will be open after Stephanie Bice, R-Oklahoma City, was elected in the Nov. 3rd general election to the U.S. House of Representatives.

Sen. Bice defeated Democrat incumbent Kendra Horn to earn the next two-year term as Oklahoma’s 5th District congresswoman.

Bice, who has served as the District 22 state senator since 2014, has resigned from the Oklahoma State Senate effective Dec. 31.



A primary election is set Tuesday, Feb. 9, 2021, and a special general election will be Tuesday, April 6. The top vote-getter from each political party in the primary will face off in the general election.

The winner in the Senate District 22 special election will serve the final two years of an unexpired term. Full Senate terms are four years.

District 22 is comprised of northern Oklahoma County and eastern Canadian County, including parts of Yukon, Piedmont, Edmond, and Deer Creek.

The district represents these zip codes: 73003, 73012, 73013, 73025, 73078, 73099, 73127 in Canadian County; and 73142 and 73762 in Oklahoma County.

When filing for the Senate vacancy, candidates must list their ballot name, legal name, title and district of office sought, residence address, mailing address, and political party.

Filing fee is $750 or a petition signed by 1,381 registered voters in Senate District 22.

This map shows the boundaries of Oklahoma State Senate District 22, which comprises northern Oklahoma County and eastern Canadian County. The election of Sen. Stephanie Bice, R-Oklahoma City, to the U.S. Congress will create a vacancy in the Senate. Bice has represented District 22 – which includes Yukon – since 2014.