Eastern Canadian County residents seek OKC council seats

Primary election Feb. 9; Oklahoma City is county's largest municipality


By Conrad Dudderar
Staff Writer

Several eastern Canadian County residents are among six candidates hoping to succeed the longest-serving Oklahoma City Council member, who decided not to seek reelection after five terms.

About 20 Canadian County polling sites will be open Tuesday, Feb. 9 for Oklahoma City’s primary election. There are races for two Oklahoma City Council seats that surround Yukon.

Since Oklahoma City is the largest municipality in Canadian County, some county officials have called for Canadian County residents to serve on Oklahoma City’s nine-member city council.

About one-third of Canadian County’s estimated 150,000 residents live in Oklahoma City limits.

“I’m looking forward to the opportunity for Canadian County to have a ‘voice’ on the Oklahoma City Council since we are such a large, growing part of the city’s population,” Canadian County District 1 Commissioner Marc Hader said.

Oklahoma City’s Ward 3 covers the west and southwest part of Oklahoma City – well into Canadian County surrounding Mustang and including areas south of Yukon.

Six candidates are campaigning for the Oklahoma City Council Ward 3 seat:

  • Charles Edward (Trey) Bishop, 45, of W Reno Avenue in Oklahoma City
  • Timothy Allen Long, 54, of SW 128th Court in Oklahoma City
  • Jessica Martinez-Brooks, 43, of Lysander Place in Oklahoma City
  • Kelli Renee Payne, 44, of S Mustang Road in Mustang
  • Edward Allen Swanda, 60, of Edinburg Drive in Yukon
  • Barbara Young, 45, of SW 18th Street in Yukon

Ward 3 incumbent Larry McAtee, the longest-serving Oklahoma City Council member, decided not to run for another term. McAtee, who was first elected in April 2001, has been re-elected four times.

There will be 13 Canadian County polling sites open Feb. 9 for the Ward 3 primary election:

  • Richland Nazarene Church, 10825 N 6th St.
  • Trinity Baptist Church, 620 N Cemetery Road.
  • Church of Christ-South Yukon, 11700 NW 10th St.
  • House of Restoration Church, 301 N Czech Hall Road.
  • Canadian Hills Nazarene Church, 11744 W Reno Ave.
  • International Pentecostal Assembly Church, 12221 Park Ave.
  • Westpointe Chrysler Jeep Dodge, 11001 W Reno Ave.
  • West Point Christian Church, 1600 S Richland Road.
  • United Methodist Church of the Good Shepherd, 10928 SW 15th St.
  • Sara Road Baptist Church, 2015 N Sara Road.
  • Mustang Nazarene Church, 700 E Highway 152.
  • Church of Christ West Metro, 4900 S Cemetery Road.
  • Lakehoma Church of Christ, 2121 W State Highway 152.


Ward 1 in Oklahoma City also includes a significant portion of Canadian County.

Ward 1 includes the west and parts of northwest Oklahoma City, surrounding Warr Acres and Bethany. That part of Oklahoma City limits stretches all the way into Canadian County south of Piedmont and north of Yukon.

Nine candidates are vying for the Oklahoma City Council Ward 1 seat:

  • Richard Thomas Buchanan, 63, of N Eagle Lane in Oklahoma City
  • Bradley Steven Carter, 41, of N.W. 103rd Street in Yukon
  • Nana Abram Dankwa, 39, of Woodland Way in Oklahoma City
  • Joshua Wayne Debolt, 37, of Long Meadow Road in Oklahoma City
  • William Michael (Bill) Fleming, 76, of Keith Street in Yukon
  • Susan Kay Parisi, 69, of N Markwell Avenue in Oklahoma City
  • Megan Leigh Scott, 36, of NW 44th Street in Oklahoma City
  • Jay Sterling Sherrill, 40, of NW 58th Street in Oklahoma City
  • Shay Thomas Varnell, 45, of Whitechapel Street in Oklahoma City

Ward 1 incumbent James Greiner, who was first elected in April 2013, decided not to run for a second term in office.

There will be nine Canadian County polling sites open Feb. 9 for the Ward 1 primary election:

  • Surrey Hills Baptist Church, 12421 N Mustang Road.
  • Richland Nazarene Church, 10825 N 6th St.
  • Bethel Community Church, 4901 N Sara Road.
  • Church of Christ-South Yukon, 11700 N.W. 10th St.
  • Covenant Community Church, 2250 Yukon Parkway.
  • Dale Robertson Center, 1200 Lakeshore.
  • Sara Road Baptist Church, 2015 N Sara Road.
  • Light Your World Church, 4550 N.W. Expressway
  • Piedmont First Baptist Church, 15 Jackson Ave. NW.

The non-partisan Oklahoma City Council primary election for Ward 1, Ward 3, Ward 4, and Ward 7 will be Tuesday, Feb. 9. If there is not a majority winner in any race, the general election will be April 6.

Winners take office April 13 and will serve the next four-year term that ends in April 2025.

The Oklahoma City Council has nine members: The mayor, who is elected citywide; and one member from each of Oklahoma City’s eight wards.

They serve part-time at the head of the City’s council-manager form of government. The mayor’s annual salary is $24,000, and each council member’s annual salary is $12,000.

The mayor and council appoint a city manager to serve as the City’s chief administrative official.