‘New’ Senate district to cover much of Yukon

Candidate filing April 13-15 for District 18 seat; four-year term

This map shows Oklahoma’s “new” Senate District 18, which will cover much of the Yukon area in eastern Canadian County. After legislative redistricting was approved last fall, Senate District 18 will move from eastern Oklahoma when new districts go into effect Nov. 23. The State Election Board will conduct the 2022 elections according to the new district lines. (Image provided)

By Conrad Dudderar
Staff Writer

Legislative redistricting has created a “new” State Senate district that will cover much of Yukon.

Oklahoma Senate District 18 will officially move from eastern Oklahoma after the 2022 election cycle.

The district’s revised boundaries will include a significant part of the Yukon area and Oklahoma City in eastern Canadian County and Bethany and Woodlawn Park in western Oklahoma County (see map).

Senate District 18 will include most of Yukon city limits, except for south of Interstate 40 and west of Mustang Road.

A new District 18 senator will be elected this year.

The State Election Board “will conduct the 2022 elections according to the new district lines,” state Senate spokeswoman Jennifer Swearingen said.

The new districts go into effect on Nov. 23 after the elections, she noted.

Candidate filing is April 13-15. The primary election is June 28 and general election Nov. 8.

The winner will earn the next four-year term in the 48-member Oklahoma Senate.

The current District 18 senator, Kim David (R-Porter), cannot seek another term due to term limits. She has been in office since Nov. 17, 2010.

Oklahoma’s state senators cannot serve more than three consecutive, four-year terms.

Sen. David’s term will end Nov. 23, 2022, and her successor will assume office within two weeks representing Senate District 18.

District 18 has covered parts of Cherokee, Mayes, Muskogee, Tulsa, and Wagoner counties.



Oklahoma state senators represent an average of 82,486 residents, according to the 2020 Census.

Most of Yukon has been part of State Senate District 22, which has moved further north and east after redistricting. Yukon’s 73099 zip code includes parts of districts 23, 44 and 45.

By law, the Oklahoma Legislature must redraw legislative district boundaries to reflect changes in population every 10 years following the decennial Census.

Senators have a base annual salary of $47,500 and a $165 per diem.

Article 5, Section 17 of the Oklahoma Constitution states:

“Members of the Senate shall be at least 25 years of age, and members of the House of Representatives 21 years of age at the time of their election. They shall be qualified electors in their respective counties or districts and shall reside in their respective counties or districts during their term of office.”

Candidate filing fees are $750 for State Senate and $500 for State House.