YHS Academic Scholars lauded for efforts

Two Yukon graduating seniors among 100 honored statewide

Yukon High School graduating seniors Don’Derek Lane and Kinley DeLeon have been named Oklahoma Academic All-State scholars. They are introduced by YHS Principal Melissa Barlow during the May 10th school board meeting. (Photo by Conrad Dudderar)

By Conrad Dudderar
Staff Writer

Yukon’s Oklahoma Academic All-Staters were honored for their prestigious accomplishment during the May school board meeting.

Yukon Public Schools’ Board of Education joined district administrators, teachers and school patrons to recognize Yukon High School seniors Kinley DeLeon and Don’Derek Lane for achieving academic excellence.

YHS Principal Melissa Barlow, at the May 10th YPS board meeting, introduced these two bright members of the YHS Class of 2022.

Some 397 Oklahoma public high school seniors qualified for the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence’s Academic All-State Award.

From that group, 100 high school seniors were selected across the Oklahoma – with two winners from Yukon.

“Congratulations,” YPS Superintendent Dr. Jason Simeroth told Kinley and Don’Derek. “That’s a phenomenal accomplishment.”

Kinley and Don’Derek are part of the 36th Academic All-State class selected by the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence.

An Oklahoma Academic All-Star scholar is a student who has demonstrated academic excellence and who has excelled on their own learning environment.

This year’s All-State scholars scored an average of 33 on the ACT, with six recipients scoring a perfect 36. The students’ average GPA was 4.22.

Some 28 of this year’s All-Staters are National Merit semifinalists, and one student is a National Hispanic Scholar semifinalist.

Each of this year’s All-Staters will receive a $1,000 merit-based scholarship and a medallion.

Principal Barlow wasn’t finished announcing the high school’s latest academic accolades, however.

She then introduced members of the YHS girls’ swim team, who have been named Oklahoma 6A academic champions for achieving a cumulative 4.0 grade point average.

“This is a huge accomplishment,” Barlow told the audience.

Meanwhile, the Yukon Professional Educators Association presented scholarships to five members of the YHS Class of 2022.

Josh Joseph, Audrey Boyd, Don’Derek Lane, Maximum Wrather, and Kenna Priest each earned the Anton V. Yanda III Memorial Scholarship based on their academic prowess and extracurricular activities.

The announcement was made by YPEA President Robert Whetzel.

Members of the YHS girls’ swim team are commended for being 6A academic champions: From left, Principal Melissa Barlow, junior Harper Barlow, freshman Makenna Clark, freshman Kamryn Pender, freshman Danica Beasley, and freshman Sara Gonzalez Sierra. (Photo by Conrad Dudderar)


Two YPS administrators were acknowledged for recent honors during the May 10th school board meeting:

  • Desarae Witmer, the district’s assistant superintendent for curriculum and instruction, was named an outstanding alumnus at Oklahoma State University’s College of Education and Human Services.
  • Amy Beams, YPS executive director of special services, was named Oklahoma’s special services director of the year.