22 YHS graduates earn alumni scholarships

Yukon Alumni Association presents $26,800 in awards to students

Members of the Yukon High School Class of 2022 are honored at the June 4th Yukon Alumni Banquet as this year’s alumni scholarship recipients. (Photo provided)

Twenty-two Yukon High School graduating seniors were awarded scholarships to further their education at the Yukon Alumni Banquet.


Some $26,800 in scholarship money was presented to members of the YHS Class of 2022.

About 200 people attended the annual alumni banquet on Saturday, June 4 inside the YHS cafeteria, 1777 S Yukon Parkway.

The Yukon Alumni Association has awarded almost $500,000 to YHS graduating seniors since the first scholarships were given in 1975.

The goal is to reach that $500,000 mark in the next two years.

Jakobi Hamilton earned the top scholarship, the $1,500 James Van Horn Scholarship.

Joslyn Gonzales earned the $1,300 Don Wedman Memorial Scholarship.

The other 20 students each received a $1,200 scholarship:

Kayll Richey, Kimberly Adams, Payton Means, Payton Williams. Kaden Hammer, Katie Clark, Karlie Carter, Audrey Boyd, Ashley Brinkley, Caleb Hubbard, Megan John, Abigial Joseph, Alisyn Dunn, Adjoa Yeboah, Kenna Priest, Andrea Reyes Vega, Yvette Perilla, Grace Manning. Ian Waggoner, and Sojourner Waggoner.

The Yukon Alumni Association raised funds for student scholarships through donations, sponsorships and fund-raisers like the annual Yukon Alumni Golf Tournament.

YHS Alumni Association board members are President Phil Kastl, James Van Horn, Johnny Rose, Danny Rose, Sandy Bohannan, Michelle O’Dell, Bill Logan, and Neta Duke.