New Canadian County commissioners take oaths Tuesday

Judge Hesse to swear-in District 1’s Manske, District 3’s Rider

Tom Manske

By Conrad Dudderar
Staff Writer

EL RENO – Two Canadian County elected officials will recite their oaths of office for the next four-year term during a ceremony when county offices reopen after the New Year’s holiday.

Tracey Rider

Canadian County District Judge Paul Hesse will administer the oaths to new District 1 County Commissioner Tom Manske and District 3 Commissioner Tracey Rider.

The annual “swearing-in” of Canadian County officers is set 9 a.m. Tuesday, Jan. 3 inside courtroom one at the Canadian County Courthouse, 301 N Choctaw.

A reception will follow in the lobby of the Canadian County Administration Building, 201 N Choctaw.

Both Manske and Rider were elected to four-year terms in the June 28th Republican primary election after contested races.

Yukon’s Manske is an auctioneer and former Canadian County extension educator. He defeated two-term incumbent Marc Hader, 3,129-2843.

El Reno’s Rider is a former human resources/accounting manager for a Yukon business and past El Reno City Council member. She defeated Yukon’s Robert Merrick, 2,488-2,405.

No other candidates filed for the District 1 and District 3 commissioner posts.

Matt Wehmuller

Canadian County Assessor Matt Wehmuller will start his fourth term next week. He was re-elected without opposition.

However, Wehmuller is not expected to participate in Tuesday’s swearing-in because he’s out-of-town for the holiday.

By state statute, Canadian County Treasurer Jay Arnold will begin the next four-year term July 1. He was elected without a challenger last summer to finish the final year of an unexpired term.



Canadian County offices will be closed next Monday, Jan. 2 to observe the New Year’s holiday.

The first Canadian County Commissioners’ meeting of 2023 – with both Manske and Rider on board – will follow the Jan. 3rd oath of office ceremony and reception.

El Reno’s Rider has served as District 3 commissioner since Nov. 23, when she was sworn in to replace new District 18 State Sen. Jack Stewart (R-Yukon).

She will join Manske next Tuesday morning to receive the oath for the next full four-year term.

Sen. Stewart spent 12-1/2 years as Canadian County’s District 3 county commissioner. He bested Yukon’s Hunter Zearley in the Republican primary to earn a four-year term in the 48-member Oklahoma State Senate.

Hader, who leaves offices Dec. 31, served eight years as District 1 commissioner.

Across Oklahoma, county officers are elected to serve four-year terms.

Other Canadian County officers are District 2 Commissioner Dave Anderson, County Sheriff Chris West, County Clerk Sherry Murray, and Court Clerk Marie Hirst.

With two new members on the three-member Canadian County Commission, Anderson said he will continue as board chairman in 2023. That annual appointment is due at the Jan. 3rd meeting.