YPS board members honored in January

Annual ‘School Board Appreciation Month’ observed in Yukon

Yukon Public Schools’ Board of Education members are: From left, Suzanne Cannon, Chris Cunningham, Cody Sanders, Leonard Wells, and Brian Coulson. (Photo provided)

Yukon’s elected school leaders are being recognized this month for their volunteer service.

January is observed annually as “School Board Appreciation Month” in Yukon.

Yukon Public Schools has a five-member Board of Education that establishes policies and regulations that govern the district.

YPS board members are Suzanne Cannon (post #1), Leonard Wells (post #2), Chris Cunningham (post #3), Brian Coulson (post #4), Cody Sanders (post #5).

Wells is the board president, Coulson is vice president, Cannon is clerk, Sanders is deputy clerk, and Cunningham is member.

Board of Education members are elected to serve staggered, five-year terms.

YPS board members are unpaid volunteers. They work with the community to improve student achievement across the school district.

The Yukon school board is responsible for:

  • Employing the superintendent
  • Adopting district policies, curriculum and budget
  • Overseeing facilities issues; and
  • Adopting collective bargaining agreements

The YPS Board of Education derives its power from the state Department of Education.

The board regularly meets monthly – usually at 6 p.m. on the first meeting of the month – inside the YPS Administration Building, 600 Maple.

All meetings are open to the public, and patrons are always welcome to attend and provide input.